Officers & Elections

Unfortunately, Chabot Gun Club’s lease was not renewed by the East Bay Regional Park District and the marksmanship range is now permanently closed. We thank all of our tens of thousands of patrons for your support for more than fifty years at this important facility. There are no plans to open up at another location at this time, although we still are open to suggestions.

To contact Chabot Gun Club’s Board of Directors, please email as follows:

The Rangemaster will forward your request to the appropriate Officer or Director.

To contact the Club President directly, please email Dennis G. Staats,

General Meeting scheduled for August 6th, 2015 @ 7:30 pm has been rescheduled for Tuesday, December 29th, 2015 in the Cleckner Building by Trap.

2015-2016 Election Results:

226 Total valid ballots received, 12 disqualified (arrived late)

Treasurer: John M. Maunder 221; Write-ins: Sergio Reyes 1, Bill Perkins 1

Secretary: Robert Grenon 223

Director: Steve Lew 223, Write-in: Bill Perkins 1

Director: Brian Gaines 220, Write-ins: Bill Perkins 1, Dean Nishimura 1

Current Directors

President: Dennis Staats

COO: Mike Roumph

Treasurer: John Maunder

Secretary: Robert Grenon

Director: Robert Carter

Director: Brian Gaines

Director: Stephen Lew

Director: Tony Martinez

Director: Dwight Underhill



Nominations for placement on the annual ballot for open Board positions shall be by mail.  The nomination process shall be overseen by an objective Inspector of Elections, appointed by the Board, or offered by a majority of the total membership.  The Inspector of Elections shall not be a Member of the Board.  He shall receive all nominations.  No Member may accept nomination for more than one office.

Members who wish to run for an open position must submit documentation containing:

(a)     The name of the candidate.

(b)     The office for which the candidate is running.

(c)     Endorsement from twenty-five (25) valid members including:

(1)     Each Member’s signature.

(2)     Each Member’s printed name.

(3)     Each Member’s membership number.

(4)     The date of each Member’s signing.

The submissions must be received by the Inspector of Elections between October 1st and October 15th of each year.  Valid nominees shall be placed on the ballot, with the incumbent Officers and Directors seeking reelection.  Nominations by mail are in-lieu of nominations presented in an annual meeting.


A term of office shall be two years.  Election of Officers and Directors shall be staggered.  The following Officers and Directors shall be nominated for election:

Even Years                                                    Odd Years

President                                                      Treasurer

Chief Operational Officer (COO)             Secretary

Director                                                        Director

Director                                                        Director


Nominated candidates may have published a short statement of up to two hundred (200) words to be included with the ballots.  These statements must be provided to the Secretary by October 25th.  Specifics of format are to be established by the Secretary consistent with all nominees.

The Inspector of Elections shall be responsible for a proper counting of the ballots. He shall make a report that shall be announced in the club bulletin.

Officers and Directors shall be elected by a plurality vote of the Members returning a valid ballot by received on or before December 1st or returned in a sealed envelope to the Club by the same date, and shall serve until election and qualification of their successors.  Ballot validity will be guided by Section 44 of Roberts Rules of Order Newly Revised for a vote by mail.

The assets of the Club shall not be used to further a nominee running for office.